The Arroyo Reviews

[wpramazon asin=”B00KILVRLW” keyword=”action”] [wpramazon asin=”B00S4P1UC0″ keyword=”action”]

Related Action Products

Terence Gavish

5 comments

  • Cary C 2 years ago
    93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    The Arroyo, February 6, 2014
    By 
    Cary C

    This review is from: The Arroyo (DVD)
    I had the wonderful pleasure of attending the World Premiere of Jeremy Boreing’s “The Arroyo”, in Lubbock Texas. This independent film stands out as a “beacon of cinematic art and story” . The story, taken right out of today’s headlines, gives the audience an up close and personal look at the heartbreak, violence and savagery that surrounds the illegal immigration situation on the Southern border of the United States. Jim Weatherford, the film’s protagonist, is played with amazing charisma and understated power by Kenny Maines. The entire cast, made up of local actors, brings a reality and genuineness to the story that is often missed in the glitz and glam of Hollywood. While the film deals with violent and intense subject matter, Director and co-writer, Jeremy Boreing doesn’t resort to gratuitous violence and never once feels the need to drop the “F Bomb” just to give his characters intensity . This is an intense and powerful story, simply and powerfully, well told .
    Cary C Banks

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • Diana M. Gallagher 2 years ago
    55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Fantastic film, February 6, 2014
    By 
    Diana M. Gallagher (Texas) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Arroyo (DVD)
    I also had the pleasure of seeing the premiere of this film in Lubbock, Texas. I was aware that this film was filmed in the West Texas area and used local talent. That being said, I expected to see a low budget film and was pleasantly surprised from the very opening scene to the last scene was expertly shot and edited. The dialogue was humorous and serious and the action scenes actually had me squirming in my seat. The acting is great, David Armendariz plays the baddest of bad guys and Kenny Maines is great as the everyday guy fighting the uphill battle. Glen Polk, Scott Harris, Nicole Sadler, Elijah Montez and Junior Vasquez fill the movie with lovable characters. I recommend this film whole heartedly.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • Jared Sichel 2 years ago
    44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Fantastic story about life in border towns., February 7, 2014
    By 

    This review is from: The Arroyo (DVD)
    I didn’t know what to expect going into this, but wow, I was hooked from the start and couldn’t wait to see how the plot would play out. Excellent and important film that anyone concerned about the southern border should watch.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • Bill in SoDak 2 years ago
    70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    About as good as Memphis Belle, December 9, 2012
    By 

    This review is from: Fortress (DVD)
    I too saw this movie at the store so I picked it since I collect WWII movies. I’ll try to break this review down into several things.

    The actors did an okay job. Remember that most air crews, especially replacements, in WWII were very young. If you were 25 years old you were considered an “old man”. The crews in this movie are a lot younger than say those in Memphis Belle which gives it some credability. Remember our grandfathers were just young kids barely out of high school who fought WWII. There were not 40 year old Hollywood A list actors like in Saving Private Ryan.

    A few people have ccomplained about the drinking in the film. Again, having served myself in the Army in the GWOT, I think the drinking is right on. Everyone deals with things in their own way. For many they turn to alcohol.

    As far as no threat or fear, obviously the other reviewer has not done any history research about the air crews in WWII. The threat of death that ground troops faced 24/7 did not impact the air crews. While they did go into danger during bombing runs and suffer heavy casualties, they were able to retreat to safety between the missions. You don’t sit there worrying about getting killed, you block it out. In other words you ddon’t want to think about it so you do anything not to. Ground troops didn’t have this option.

    As far as CGI and things looking fake, what “looks” real? Even Redtails that had a budget in the millions used CGI. Even Memphis Belle used toy models for many of the damage sequences. If you pay attention to the story line you can easily overlook the few CGI errors. In fact most of it looked pretty good considering the low budget.

    The argument that one reviewer tried to make that the sounds were wrong is pointless. If ANY movie sounded like it realy did up there you would not b able to hear anything except engine noise. I have been around many warbirds and the sound is deafening. Remember the 1940s was a time before OSHA required earplugs. This is no different than any military movie where the soldiers are firing guns. My ears would ring firing an M16 let alone what air crews heard firing ten 50 cals per B17.

    Overall this is a good movie with a nice story line. The lack of super big name A list actors makes it more believable. If you love B17s you will enjoy this movie. The fact that story takes place focusing on the Italy raids is a nice change from all the focus of raids on France and Germany. And a B17 base somewhere other than England is a nice change also. I highly recommend this movie.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • Dan Thompson 2 years ago
    85 of 94 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Reaching for the sky, June 12, 2012
    By 
    Dan Thompson (USA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Fortress [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
    I normally prefer to review the disc release and not the movie but, obviously, this disc is not yet available and the movie is enough of an unknown quantity (evidenced by this being the first review) that it seemed an exception was due this time.

    I came across FORTRESS by accident. I had not seen any publicity for it and I follow movie releases fairly closely. It is apparently a low budget, independent production. It is pretty ambitious for such a film. To recreate the large bomber formations, fighter plane attacks and even the base camp it uses a lot of CGI.

    So, I have seen FORTRESS and I very much enjoyed it. Sure, the visual effects are sometimes a bit crude, but most of the time they are pretty effective and certainly good enough to support the story. I’d say the visual effects are a bit better than those in the TV series DOGFIGHTS (which were pretty good) but not up to the standards of RED TAILS (a high bar, IMO). The movie was well written and I was impressed by the performances by the unknown (to me) cast. For a movie made on a tiny fraction of most big studio movie budgets it is quite an accomplishment.

    Synopses of the story can be found on IMDb and if you haven’t watched the trailer on YouTube, yet, do so. If you like WW II movies, especially about the air war in Europe, I think you will like FORTRESS.

    I like this movie enough that I have pre-ordered the Blu-ray. Since Amazon does not mention whether or not it will have any extras, I emailed the production company and asked. They replied that it will have a timelapse of part of the plane being built and a short documentary.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published.